What’s one to do about climate change? (Part 2)

Previously I have gone over why it’s tempting to feel like one individual cannot do much to make a change in the climate crisis, and why I personally believe otherwise. It is difficult and perhaps futile to measure one’s efforts against the insurmountable demand for large-scale, effective climate action. For that reason, I believe that the calculation of how much each of us will contribute to the movement is besides the point, at least as we begin the journey of adopting changes. Each of us can initiate something, however small, with the hopeful prospect that it will snowball into some more significant changes, or shared efforts among many. With that, I am setting the intention to implement more climate “resolutions” in the upcoming months and simultaneously get as many people around me on board as possible.

I might have gone around preaching to friends about some climate-friendly changes they could adopt, but even in relaying these messages, I harbored some hesitation because (1) I did not want to appear pushy to further the “bad rap” of fellow “climate people”, and (2) I felt that all I did wasn’t enough to grant me the role of someone who could tell others what to do. Then again, it’s 2023 and no longer a time to see climate-aware folks as either annoying or ridiculous. Pushy is all we can afford to be. As for the second point: this is a very rigid perspective about climate action. Thinking that there exists an arbitrary yardstick to measure whether someone does “enough”, or whether they are “legit” enough for their words or actions to matter is a hierarchical outlook that can hinder collective, democratic action. Imagine each and every one of us staying silent over climate action or, worse, disengaging, for fear of falling short of some non-existent benchmark! Any collective movement is prone to fall apart.

Thus, I am compiling and sharing with everyone several climate resolutions that I wish to pursue (some of which I am already practicing). This list is a result of my ongoing learning, researching, and reading. It is not complete, and I will continue to add items to it, as well as the resources and rationale for the actions. I form the list based on my personal circumstances and needs, which means not every single item is applicable to others. The intention is to map out ideas for becoming better advocates for and practitioners of climate action, not to prescribe strict rules that tolerate no deviation. I also do not wish to turn into a paragon of climate action upon accomplishing most if not all of the resolutions. The action items are mere suggestions to get the ball rolling (remember, one individual doesn’t change the whole planet). Hopefully by sharing this list, I can give everyone some ideas and inspiration for adopting changes amidst the climate crisis.

The climate resolutions fall into a few main categories:

  1. Energy: energy usage such as electricity, heating, or other resources like water
  2. Transportation: mode of transport, fuel choice or efficiency, other transport-related decisions
  3. Food: diet, food practices, food purchases, food waste
  4. Shopping & Materials: other purchases such as personal products, household products, as well as shopping practices
  5. Waste: waste management and reduction, recycling and reusing practices
  6. Land: land-related choices, support for climate-friendly land developments
  7. Civic & Advocacy: civic engagement and other responsibilities as a citizen, consumer, and member of community; activism and advocacy for climate-related causes
  8. Work: career choices, workplace practices, side jobs or commitments
  9. Finances: money decisions, financial choices and support

The list can be overwhelming, but I genuinely hope there is at least one feasible item for each of us. Let’s keep the conversations alive, and our minds and hands busy with all the new options for helping with the climate movement!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com